For my Valentine!

17 Feb

Well, I know I am a few days late on posting for Valentine’s Day, but I am going to anyway! In all the chaos on Tuesday, I failed to take pictures of my delicious meal I had fixed. It was delicious top round steak that was soaked in a marinade that was to die for! It was sweet and salty goodness. We also had homemade potato wedges that were well seasoned and dinner rolls. The dinner rolls were incredible. My husband yelled at me every time I picked at the rolls after that dinner. He wanted all the leftovers to himself. So, I think that’s a compliment, sort of! I am undecided if I should post some of the recipes I used for the dinner because I was unable to get pictures before it got gobbled down.

I did, however, get pictures of the cake I made. It was just a red velvet cake mix from the box and the frosting was chocolate malt buttercream. That was not from a jar and it was so delicious! I adapted my recipe from she wears many hats. It’s so easy and delicious. It just doesn’t make enough, in my opinion!

Chocolate Malt Buttercream

1/2 c. unsalted butter, room temperature
1 t. vanilla extract
2 c. powdered sugar
1/2 c. unsweetened cocoa powder
1/2 c. malted milk powder
7 T. milk

In a large bowl, mix the butter and vanilla until smooth. Then add in the powdered sugar, cocoa powder, and malted milk powder and mix lightly. Add in a tablespoon of milk at a time until the buttercream is smooth and creamy.

*It only took me 5 tablespoons to meet the consistency and creaminess I like. I would double the recipe next time since it didn’t make nearly enough frosting for me.

I was going to attempt to make a design on top of the cake with some white buttercream and it wasn’t thick enough. It ended up looking messing so I just mixed it in the with the chocolate malt buttercream. It was a huge fail! This sometimes happens. It tasted wonderful anyway. My cake was in a shape of a heart. I didn’t show it because I didn’t want everyone to see my disaster with the designing.

Leave a Reply

