Bread anyone?

11 Feb

I love warm, fresh bread. Spread a little butter on it and I’m in heaven. The aroma just fills the house. I love everything about baking bread.

This bread I made was just simple white bread. It’s literally named “Simple White Bread.” It’s very dense and not as sweet as I would like but it sure was great for a delicious grilled cheese. Let’s get to the recipe! It’s from the Taste of Home cookbook.

Simple White Bread

2 packages active dry yeast
2 1/2 c. warm water (110 to 115 degrees)
1/2 c. nonfat dry milk powder
1/2 c. vegetable oil
2 T. sugar
1 T. salt
8 1/2 to 9 c. all-purpose flour
1 T. butter, melted

In a large mixing bowl, dissolve yeast in 1/2 cup warm water. Add the milk powder, oil, sugar, salt, 3 cups flour and remaining water. Beat on medium speed for 3 minutes or until smooth. Stir in enough flour to form a soft dough.

Turn onto a floured surface; knead until smooth and elastic, about 6-8 minutes. Place in a greased bowl, turning once to grease top. Cover and let rise in a warm place until doubled, about 1 hour.

Punch dough down. Divide in half; shape into loaves. Place in two greased 9-in. x 5-in. x 3-in. loaf pans. Cover and let rise until doubled, about 1 hour.

Bake at 375 degrees for 35 minutes or until golden brown. Remove from pans to wire racks to cool. Brush with Butter.

Now that I got the important stuff out of the way, I wanted to say I have lost two more pounds. That is a total of 12 pounds. It may help that every time I try to eat, my little muffin man decides he needs a bite and then another. Before I know it, my food is cold. Yuck!

2 Responses to “Bread anyone?”

  1. randee February 11, 2012 at 10:39 pm #

    Oh how I wish that I could make bread!! I am from blogaholic and liked your FB page!! Come visit if you get a chance!

  2. veronica lee February 14, 2012 at 12:35 pm #

    Looks delish!!

    Hi! Stopping by from MBC. Great blog!
    Have a nice day!

Leave a Reply

