Celebrating losing ten pounds with a Nutella Pound Cake

3 Feb

I have been hesitant about making anything real desirable lately. I am on this “must lose weight” kick! I even hesitated with my mom’s delicious lasagna and just talking about mom’s lasagna makes my mouth water. Nonetheless, I have lost ten and a half pounds to be exact and to be honest, I feel happier already. My husband has also been getting in better shape. He’s working on getting a deputy sheriff’s position in one of our surrounding counties.  I am so proud of him!

Enough with all this excitement. I do have a baking blog and baking I shall be doing. Today is my anniversary. Yes, the day after groundhog’s day. Last night, I made a Nutella Pound Cake for my husband and I to celebrate our whole two years. It’s absolutely delicious and a little gooey, which in this household, is a plus. I found this recipe at danatreat.com.

Nutella Pound Cake

1 1/4 c. granulated sugar
2 sticks of unsalted butter, room temperature
4 large eggs, room temperature
2 t. vanilla extract
1 1/2 c. all-purpose flour
3/4 t. baking powder
1/4 t. salt
1 Jar (13 oz.) Nutella

Preheat your oven to 325 degrees. Grease and lightly flour your 9-by-5 inch pan. Make sure you tap the excess flour out. In a small bowl, lightly beat the eggs and vanilla together. In a medium bowl, whisk together the dry ingredients.

In a large bowl, combine butter and sugar with a mixer. Mix until light and fluffly. This is take approximately 3 minutes. Mix in the egg mixture until thoroughly combined. Then add in the flour mixture in batches until just incorporated. Mix an extra 30 seconds.

Spread one-third of the batter in the pan. Add half of the Nutella on top of the batter. Repeat another one-third of the batter and the rest of the Nutella. Top with the remaining batter. Lightly swirl the batter and Nutella together with a butter knife. Don’t over mix.

Bake in the oven for 1 hour and 15 minutes. Let the cake cool in its pan for 15-20 minutes. Turn onto a cooling rack and let cool for another 2 hours. Slice and serve.

It’s sad I had to rewrite this post. I never feel like the second one is as good as the first one.

One Response to “Celebrating losing ten pounds with a Nutella Pound Cake”

  1. mybabysleepguide February 8, 2012 at 3:07 am #

    That looks heavenly! I am obsessed with nutella. I am a new FB follower (by personal account) via the hop .You can find me at
    My Baby Sleep Guide

    Thanks!
    Rachel

Leave a Reply

